The calm before the storm

It’s been a quiet two weeks.  Got to spend a nice New Years with the family and spend time with my boys.  I’ve also been getting things prepared for upcoming cakes, placing all my orders in for ingredients and gathering all the equipment and materials I will need.   It’s going to be busy, busy for the next few weeks.  To be honest, I’m feeling anxious but excited at the same time.  Some nights when we have the boys down early, I spend time working on some of the cake decors.  It’s nice and relaxing.   (I also like to plan ahead so I’m not rushing and panicking when the time comes…that would drive me insane).

First cake will be the Backyardigans cake for Casey who is turning one!  Hopefully my fondant skills are good enough haha.  Ethan was able to name the characters I made when he saw them so I guess they’re not THAT bad LOL!  Must remember to make a cupcake on the side.  I know and have this feeling I’m going to forget.  This will be my first attempt at a coffee flavoured cake.  Tried out the buttercream two weeks ago and I think I finally got the flavor right (hopefully).  I worked it out so that the cake itself will have just a hint of coffee and the buttercream will have most of the coffee taste.  *Cross fingers they’ll like it.*

After Casey’s cake, I’ll have 4 cakes to make in one week!  Yikes!  It’s okay, (I think), I’ve got everything planned out.   Just hoping for no unexpected surprises!

Another cake I’ve also been working on is a stacked book cake.  Now I’m really nervous about this one.  So many details …  I just hope I get everything right!  It will definitely be interesting though as it’s my first attempt and I’m looking forward to seeing how it’ll turn out.  The top book will be a book that the person wrote herself.  I got the cover page printed on sugar sheet.  First time using sugar sheet.  My husband and I actually wanted to get a printer for it, but none of the printers selling now has edible ink sold in Canada 😦  So that’s going to have to be put on hold for now.   In the meantime, I had to pay someone to print it out for me.

I had some concerns about the sugar sheets.  I was bombarding the poor lady (who printed it for me) with lots and lots of questions LOL!  But she said there shouldn’t be any problems if I follow the instructions closely, so lets hope it’ll all work out well.  Just trying to decide whether I want to take a risk and put it on the cake the night before.  The cake will have to go in the fridge, and my concern is that when I take the cake out, the fondant usually sweats a bit, and the colors might run?  OR, should I just wait till the day of and then put it on?  But I want to get it done the night before so I can take pictures as well.  Hmm…what to do?!?!  Anyone have any experience/advice?

Alright, going to stop here for now.  My little boy has woken up from his nap.  Here’s a little peek at what I’ve been working on with the book cake.  I’ve got the board covered and made it into hardwood flooring.  The two turtles are still work in progress.   Yes, one has bulging eyes, but that’s because I’m not done with him yet LOL!  They’re sunbathing a bit.  Enjoy today’s nice sunny weather!!!

IMG_2213

Leave a comment