Learning, discovering, improving!

I finally finished the stacked book cake!  For weeks I’ve been fretting over it.  I’ve never made such a cake, but I was excited at the same time because it was a big challenge for me and I LOVE challenges.  That’s the only way I’ll learn to be better.  But don’t be asking for crazy cakes like the ones you see from Cake Boss.  I’m not that good…yet!  Maybe one day LOL!  I was very nervous about it cause I needed to really plan ahead and there were many specifics for this cake and I really want to make it right.

I started with the board and turtles (as I posted in one of my previous posts).  I wanted the turtles and the board to be hard and sturdy.  The thing with fondant is that you have to give it enough time to harden and dry out (which in some cases, may take weeks).  After that was done, I began to measure out the sizes of the books so that I could plan how to include all the text and illustrations on them.  Not easy when you have to estimate.  Once I figured out the sizes of the books, I began to brainstorm on how I would decorate each one.  Luckily, there were specifics so I didn’t have to pick at my brain too much.  One of the books that had to be included was a book the person wrote.  The illustrations on the cover wasn’t something I could just squeeze in with fondant so I had to figure out another way.  My husband and I began to look into printers for the edible sugar sheets.  I’ figured I’ve had to do many cakes that required edible printing so we might as well look into one.  We found some printers but none of the ink were sold in Canada yet.  To order it at that time, the ink wouldn’t have arrived in time so I had to go research and look for a place to print it out for me.  After days of research and pondering, I finally found a place.  Check marked that off the list.

Now the time finally arrived.  It was time to bake the cakes and start putting it all together.  Nervous?  Yes, very.  I began to feel stressed as the clock ticked away.  The problem with me is that I tend to strive for perfection.  Sometimes I don’t know if it’s actually a good thing or bad thing LOL!  When things don’t turn out the way I hoped it would, I get stressed and I start to hesitate.  To me I needed it to be perfect.  Thank goodness my husbands always around to remind me to strive for progress and not perfection.  Funny thing.  That’s something we always teach children, yet I forget to apply it to myself hahaha.  Anyways, as I was nit picking at little things here and there, he reminded me that it was okay and wasn’t anything big, so I tried to let go of the small things.

I enjoyed making this cake.  Besides trying to make it perfect, I learned a lot of new thing

I was actually glad when my friend came to pick up the cake, cause the longer it sat there in front of me, the more I was tempted to find things wrong with it and fix.  When I took it out of the fridge today, I accidentally broke a piece of the cover off.  I was sooooo upset, but I managed to fix it up with the leftover pieces of sugar.  But it looked funny and was driving me nuts.  Didn’t look natural.

IMG_2368

IMG_2440

Leave a comment