The good, bad and the tasty: quick fondant review

I have a bit of time to write a quick blog while my little one is napping.

So I’ve been bust with my cakes once again.  I’m learning more with each cake I make and I’m feeling more inspired each time.  Recently I made a cake for my friends 30th birthday.  She wanted something different so I decided to make a hot pink zebra patterned cake fore her with some bling.  Time to get my stuff together!  Now, I usually buy Satin Ice for fondant as it’s been the best one I could find that’s available at most stores.  However, they don’t have much of the crazy, sassy, bright colors, so I had to look elsewhere.  Thankfully, one of the stores where I do most of my purchases carried another brand that had bright pink and best part was…it was on sale.  I decided to try the brand Fondx.  I purchased a tub of baby yellow and a tub of hot pink.  When I first opened it, the smell didn’t really appeal to me.  It had this bubble gum smell which reminded me of something from childhood that always made me nauseous.  Anyhow, there wasn’t much I could do…had to use it for the cake 😛  To my surprise, I ended up loving the fondant.  Here are some of the reasons why I can say I LOVE IT.

First off, rolling out the Fondx fondant was much easier and it came out smoother.  I could roll it really thin and it wouldn’t tear at all.  With Satin Ice, sometimes if I roll it out too thin, I start getting pock marks and tears.  I was quite surprised with how stretchy and pliable Fondx fondant was.  My next test was to see how well it covered the cake.  The moment I laid the fondant on the cake, I was sold on this fondant.  Never had I had such an easy time covering the cake.  After I placed it on top, I began to smooth out the sides and it happened so nicely and so quickly.  With Satin Ice, at times, I find I have to  cut the bottom part quickly before it starts to weigh down the top and start tearing.  No issues with Fondx.  It went on smootly and gave a crisp, clean look.   Another pro…the fondant has a pleasant taste.  Not as sweet as many of the other ones I’ve tried (which is something I always look for in fondant).  I was very impressed and fell in love with it.

Now with all that pros of Fondx, there are cons as well.  As I mentioned before, I wasn’t a big fan of the smell, but that’s just my own personal opinion.  Most people seem to be fine with it.  Another con is the pricing.  As good as it taste and as easy as it is to work with,  it is a bit on the pricier side compared to many other fondant.  😦  Ah well, its not that Satin Ice is that bad, but why settle for something that’s just okay when theres something better (and much easier to work with)?  😛  Definitely no Wilton though. That is one fondant I advise to stay away from. Hard to work with, dries quickly and bad tasting.  I also use The Mat to cover my cakes with fondant.  In one of my previous posts, I had reviewed it and I can still say that it’s a life savour for me.  It has definitely made covering cakes so much easier.  Anyways, here’s a few pics of my cake for Jamille’s 30th bday!

So proud of myself…I couldn’t’ purchase the rhinestone ribbons sold at the cake store in time so I made my own! 😛

1410663_10151989089152620_2058732547_o

4 thoughts on “The good, bad and the tasty: quick fondant review

Leave a comment